India’s Sports Awards in 2020

In this article, I will list all the awards which were won by Indian Sports people in 2020. This information can be useful for different competition exams like UPSC.

Award TitleWinnerDetails
Spirit of Cricket AwardVirat KohliVirat Kohli Virat Kohli was honoured with the ICC award ‘Spirit of Cricket’ for his touching gesture during India vs Australia world cup match when he had gestured the crowd to cheer for Steve Smith instead of booing
ODI Cricketer 2019Rohit SharmaRohit Sharma was adjudged as the 2019 ODI Cricketer of the Year, as he hit record 5 centuries during ICC World Cup 2019 and a total of 7 ODI centuries in the whole year
T201 Performance of 2019Deepak ChaharDeepak Chahar’s spell against Bangladesh in November 2019 won the ICC award for the T201 Performance of 2019. Deepak Chahar had created history in T201 cricket with a hat-Irick and bowling figure of 6/7 in India vs Bangladesh T20 match
President of Archery Association of IndiaArjun MundaArjun Munda has been elected as the new President of the Archery Association of India (AAI). He was elected to the position during elections conducted on January 18, 2020
World Games Athlete of the Year’ awardRani RampalRani Rampal becomes first hockey player in world to win ‘World Games Athlete of the Year’ award
Honourable MentionPullela GopichandTop Indian badminton coach, Pullela Gopichand was awarded an “honorable mention’. at the IOC Coaches Lifetime Achievement Awards 2019 for his excellence and contribution in the field of coaching
FIH Men’s Player of the year 2019 awardManpreet SinghIndian Hockey Captain – Manpreet Singh has become the first Indian to win the International Hockey Federations’ Men’s Player of the Year Award
Laureus World Sports Awards 2020Sachin TendulkarSachi Tendulkar has won the Laureus Sporting Moment Award held in Germany’s capital Berlin. He won this award based on the public fan vote
Chief Selector of Indian men’s cricket teamSunil JoshiThe Cricket Advisory Committee (CAC) of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) appointed Sunil Joshi as the new Chief Selector of team India
Ranji TrophySaurashtraSaurashtra team won the Ranji Trophy title for the first time in 70 years. Saurashtra became the champion based on the lead achieved in the first innings of the final against Bengal. The final match of Ranji Trophy was played in an empty stadium due to Coronavirus fear
Ambassador for BWF’s ‘i am badminton’PV SindhuBadminton World Federation (BWF) announced PV Sindhu as one of the ambassadors for its ‘I am badminton’ awareness campaign
Interim CEO of BCCIHemang AminThe Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has appointed Hemang Amin as the interim CEO of the board
Haryana sports deputy directorsBabita Phogat and Kavita DeviCommonwealth Games medalist Babita Phogat and ICabaddi player Kavita Devi have been appointed as deputy directors in the Sports and Youth Affairs Department of Haryana
IPL Title Sponsor 2020Dream 11Dreamll has won IPL 2020 title sponsorship hid for Rs 222 crores
Second round of Grand Slam Singles eventSumit NagpalSumit Nagpal becomes first Indian in 7 years to enter the second round of Grand Slam Singles event. Sumit Nagpal came out blasting in the initial two sets of the match against Bradley Klahn as he registered the successive wins of 6-1, 6-3
Italian Open final Men’s Singles eventNovak DjokovicNovak Djokovic wins Men’s Singles event by beating Diego Schwartzman in Italian Open He won 7-5, 6-3 in the Italian Open final to ensure that he goes into next week’s French Open on a high

Recent Posts